Merce by Merce by Paik Part One: Blue Studio: Five Segments

Merce Cunningham and Charles Atlas
1975-76, 15:38 min, color, sound

Blue Studio: Five Segments is a groundbreaking work of videodance by postmodern master Merce Cunningham and his then filmmaker-in-residence, Charles Atlas. In a series of short pieces choreographed and performed specifically for video space, Cunningham is multiplied, overlaid and transported from the studio to a series of unexpected landscapes. Cunningham's gestural dance is manipulated to the accompaniment of a disjunctive audio collage that includes the voices of John Cage and Jasper Johns.

by Charles Atlas and Merce Cunningham

Available on

1978, 28:45 min, color, sound

See also