CTG (Computer Technique Group)

CTG was founded by Masao Komura, Haruki Tsuchiya, Kunio Yamanaka, and Junichiro Kakizaki in December of 1966. These four founding members were later joined by Koji Fujino, Fujio Maruha, Makoto Otake, Takeshi Hasegawa, Shigeaki Iwashita, and Michio Sasaki. With the cooperation of Japan IBM, the group utilized a large-scale calculator and plotter to create cutting-edge computer art. In 1968, the group participated in the Cybernetic Serendipity exhibition at the ICA London, which featured computer art in the context of contemporary art. That year the group also won the 6th annual computer art contest held by the American magazine Computers & Automation, and was featured in the publication. In November of 1969, CTG disbanded; Komura Masao continues his work in media art.   full biography


sort:   | 
1969, 8 min, b&w, sound
2010, 162 min, color and b&w, sound, DVD
Computer Movie No. 2
1969, 8 min, b&w, sound
Image Modulator
1969, 45 sec, color, sound
Ooi and Environs
1977, 1:30 min, color, sound
1971, 8 min, color, sound
Oh! My Mother
1969, 14 min, color, sound
Camera, Monitor, Frame
1976, 17:15 min, b&w, sound
Hand No. 2
1976, 7:50 min, b&w, silent
Magnetic Scramble
1968, 30 sec, b&w, silent
Under A Bridge
1974, 13 min, b&w, sound
What a Woman Made
1973, 10:50 min, b&w, sound
Kick The World
1974, 15 min, b&w, sound
1972, 1:30 min, b&w, sound
Digest of Video Performance, 1978-1983
1978-1983, 15:35 min, color, sound
Lapse Communication
1972-1980, 16 min, color, sound
Image of Image-Seeing
1973, 11:20 min, b&w, sound
The Recognition Construction: Hyojyutsu (Against Application or Mimesis)
1975, 20 min, color, sound