The New Television

Based on Open Circuits: An International Conference on the Future of Television. Organized by Fred Barzyk, Douglas Davis, Gerald O'Grady, and Willard Van Dyke for The Museum of Modern Art.

Edited by Douglas Davis and Allison Simmons. The MIT Press: Cambridge, MA and London, England. Copyright 1977 Electronic Arts Intermix.

New Television is a seminal text of the early video art movement. This 289-page publication, currently out of print, is one of the first collections of serious writings on video as an art form. Based on the 1974 conference Open Circuits at The Museum of Modern Art, the publication includes essays, statements and documentation of videotapes by forty contributors. The content was organized into three sections: The Aesthetics of Television; The Support Structure: Change and Resistance; and The Politics, Philosophy and Future of Television. New Television also included a Video Chronology (beginning in 1959) and a Video Bibliography.

The contributors included Vito Acconci, John Baldessari, Gregory Battcock, Stephen Beck, Wolfgang Becker, Rene Berger, Russell Connor, Douglas Davis, Ed Emshwiller, Hans Magnus Ensensberger, Vilem Flusser, Hollis Frampton, Frank Gillette, Jorge Glusberg, Wulf Herzogenrath, Joan Jonas, Allan Kaprow, David Katzive, Howard Klein, Shigeko Kubota, Jane Livingston, Barbara London, Edward Lucie-Smith, Toshio Matsumoto, John McHale, Gerald O'Grady, Nam June Paik, Robert Pincus-Witten, David Ross, Pierre Schaeffer, Richard Serra, Allison Simmons, Gerd Stern, Paul Stitelman, Harald Szeeman, Stan Vanderbeek, and Evelyn Weiss.